Writing Center Co-Consultation #2

During our time of working on Project 2 in Service Learning class, a couple of  classmates and myself found ourselves lost on exactly what we were doing. We all made appointments at the Writing Center to gain the help we needed. While there, Jasmine was our consultant.   As she started asking questions to the person that made the appointment, we all started chiming in and exchanging ideas. In a way, by talking to Jasmine and each other we were able to gain a better understanding of what exactly was being asked of us. I count this as a co-consultation because without me inputing what I felt the project sheet meant, my classmate and Jasmine would not have been able to figure it out, mainly because Jasmine is not in our class. After figuring out what she was doing, my classmate wanted help brainstorming ways to incorporate her Moravian identity into a place that she could profile. We discussed several topics, and Jasmine and I offered up some ideas. Ultimately the decision was upon my fellow classmate about where she wanted to write about. However, the help Jasmine and I provided her made it easier for her to make her decision. After she made the decision, we helped her organize her thoughts by simply asking questions that led her to be able to make an outline of the profile she wanted to write. I was very pleased with helping my classmate because Jasmine was extremely welcoming to anyone helping. I did not feel as if I was intruding upon any time she was having with a client. I felt useful.

One comment

  1. drkatiemanthey · April 28, 2016

    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment